What do I need to know as a Sophomore?

I’m currently a sophomore, and I don’t know where to begin when it comes to scholarships, so I came here to ask some questions on what I should focus on and how to get as many as possible.

1. How hard is it to get a scholarship overall? I’ve heard it’s pretty hard, and that worries me as I’m not good at writing convincing essays, nor do I have anything outstanding about myself.
  2. On the topic of “not being outstanding”, all I have going for me are grades (4.0 GPA). No extra-curriculars (Covid-19 put a halt on that), so what should I do to increase my chances? I don’t want to sign up for sports, and I believe you need to be pretty successful with things like Speech, so that’s out of the question for someone like me. Places I’ve briefly explored mostly require you to create something or have done something big.
  3. Where should I look? Good websites? Resources? Etc.
  4. How much should I apply if I want a lot of money? I’m not really sure what my chances of getting picked really are, so I don’t want to under apply. I am really worried about paying for college, as I don’t want to go into debt, or that much of it.

If you need more info, feel free to ask.

Hey there! Don’t worry, getting scholarships might seem tough, but it’s doable. Your 4.0 GPA is a great start, even without extracurriculars. Look for scholarships online on sites like Fastweb or Scholarships.com, and ask your school counselor for help. Try to show your strengths through projects or certifications. Apply for as many scholarships as you can manage, but focus on quality. With some effort and smart searching, you’ll increase your chances of getting the financial help you need for college. If you need more advice, just ask!

It’s great that you’re starting to think about scholarships as a sophomore! Let’s tackle your questions one by one to give you a clearer path forward.

How Hard Is It to Get a Scholarship?